Guidelines for the Werkbundsiedlung

The following “building blocks” form the starting point for the guidelines and the deeper involvement in the planning of the Werkbundsiedlung:

“The Werkbund was founded in 1907 in Munich with the aim of improving the quality of everyday culture in a collaboration between art, industry and craftsmanship. With its exhibitions, particularly in the 1920s with the ‘Weißenhofsiedlung’ in Stuttgart and the model housing development ‘Wohnung und Werkraum’ (‘living space and work space’) in Breslau as well as the housing developments in Vienna, Prague and Zurich, the Werkbund had a decisive influence on the culture of building and living in Europe.

The Deutscher Werkbund Bayern e.V. association decided to initiate and supervise in an advisory capacity the building of a Werkbund housing development in Munich, the city where it was founded. The realization of this idea builds upon the collaboration of the Werkbund, the City of Munich and non-profit, cooperative and private-sector firms of the housing industry. Renowned city planners and architects will be involved.

A creative approach to urban development, the environment and architecture in the beginning 21st century is the precondition for the Werkbundsiedlung exerting an influence on the culture of building and living beyond Munich.

The venture of the Werkbundsiedlung is one of connecting recognizable changes of the social structures and the age distribution of society with new approaches of an artistic, functional, ecological and constructive view of architecture. Individual structures in the private area of living and working and public spaces used in various ways including free time and culture complement each other in a lively coexistence. The implementation of sustainable ecological concepts ensures the future viability of the project and thus its sterling quality. Economical building and construction methods allow for cost-conscious building and inexpensive living.

Leitlinien der Werkbundsiedlung

Die folgenden „Bausteine“ bilden den Ausgangspunkt für die Leitlinien und die vertiefende Beschäftigung bei der Planung der Werkbundsiedlung:

„Der Werkbund wurde 1907 in München mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Qualität der Alltagskultur im Zusammenwirken von Kunst, Industrie und Handwerk zu steigern. Der Werkbund hat mit seinen Werkbund-Ausstellungen, insbesondere in den zwanziger Jahren mit der ‚Weißenhofsiedlung‘ in Stuttgart und der Mustersiedlung ‚Wohnung und Werkraum‘ in Breslau sowie den Siedlungen in Wien, Prag und Zürich, die Bau- und Wohnkultur in Europa maßgeblich beeinflusst.

Der Deutsche Werkbund Bayern e. V. hat sich entschlossen, die Errichtung einer Werkbundsiedlung in seiner Gründungsstadt München zu initiieren und beratend zu begleiten. Die Umsetzung dieser Idee baut auf die Zusammenarbeit von Werkbund, Stadt München und gemeinnützigen, genossenschaftlichen und freien Unternehmen der Wohnungswirtschaft. Namhafte Städteplaner und Architekten werden sich daran beteiligen.

Eine kreative Auseinandersetzung mit dem Städtebau, der Umwelt und der Architektur im beginnenden 21. Jahrhundert ist die Voraussetzung dafür, dass die Werkbundsiedlung die Kultur des Bauens und des Wohnens über München hinaus beeinflusst.

Das Wagnis der Werkbundsiedlung besteht darin, erkennbare Veränderungen der sozialen Strukturen und des Altersaufbaus der Gesellschaft mit neuen Ansätzen einer künstlerischen, funktionalen, ökologischen und konstruktiven Architekturauffassung zu verbinden. Individuelle Gestaltungen im privaten Bereich von Wohnen und Arbeiten und vielfältig, auch für Freizeit und Kultur genutzte öffentliche Räume ergänzen sich zu einem lebendigen Miteinander. Die Umsetzung nachhaltiger ökologischer Konzepte sichert die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Vorhabens und damit dessen Wertigkeit. Wirtschaftliche Bau- und Konstruktionsmethoden ermöglichen ein kostenbewusstes Bauen und preisgünstiges Wohnen.